MINUTES OF AN AGM OF TETNEY PARISH COUNCIL

Held on the 14th May 2015

Present :- Councillors: – Y. Fletcher

B. Holden

A. Winslow

R. Lukehurst

B. Maynard

T. Bridges (County Cllr)

S. Watson (Dist. Cllr)

S. Booth (Clerk)

Public: - 3

Cllr Fletcher volunteered to Chair the AGM.

APOLOGIES

• Apologies were received from Cllr McMillan and Cllr Lane due to work commitments. Cllr Powell put his apologies in as he would be late.

MINUTES OF THE LAST MEETING HELD ON 8TH MAY 2014

• Minutes had been previously circulated. Cllr Holden proposed and Cllr Maynard seconded accepting the meetings as a true and accurate recording. Vote taken, all in favour.

CHAIRMAN'S REPORT

- Cllr Fletcher asked Cllr Maynard to take over as Chair for the Chairman's Report as he had been the Chairman for the year.
- Cllr Maynard outlined where the Fire exits and extinguishers were situated, where to assemble in an emergency, that the building was a "No smoking" establishment and that the Council policy folder was available at the side of the room. He went on to say that the year had been better than some years yet not as good as others. There has been numerous planning applications submitted for large developments which the public objected to, along with the on-going fight against the on-shore wind turbines. The new openness and transparency legislation caused considerable friction between the Parish Council and the then District Councillor over the latter part of the year, Cllr Maynard made reference to this and how it had become a major issue between the two parties with the former District Cllr seemingly unable to leave the matter alone and accept the advice the Parish Council had been given. The former District Cllr took exception to this and attempted to argue the point. Cllr Maynard instructed that no comments could be made by the public other than in the Open forum of the main meeting. The allotment competeition was hard to judge based on the high standards of entry and the Best Kept Village competition was a disappointment due to not progressing.

Cllr Fletcher took over as Chair again for the remainder of the meeting.

ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

• The election of the Chairman was postponed to the June meeting due to not enough Cllrs being present to nominate and second the two candidates. Cllr Winslow proposed postponing the election, Cllr Holden seconded the proposal. Vote taken all in favour. Cllr Lukehurst suggested Cllr Maynard still Chair the main Parish Council meeting. Unanimously agreed.

ELECTION OF VICE CHAIRMAN

• The election of Vice Chairman was postponed until the June meeting for the reason stated above.

DECLARATIONS OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE

 All Cllrs present were issued with acceptance of office forms and pecuniary interests forms to complete and return to the Clerk within 2 weeks. The Clerk will issue both forms to Cllr McMillan and Cllr Lane. Clerk to inform ELDC elections dept. of the delayed Chairman forms.

CODE OF CONDUCT

• The Code of Conduct adopted in 2012 was re-issued and proposed by Cllr Fletcher and seconded by Cllr Maynard, vote taken accepted unanimously.

PROGRAMME OF MEETINGS

• The programme of meetings is to remain the same i.e. the second Thursday of every month in the Village Hall at 7.30pm.